RSS Feed

I want a dog. And a new car.

Posted on

I’ve been having urges. (No, not those types of urges.) Urges to spend. On a few things I totally don’t need right now…

Like a dog. We have two cats already and live in an 1,000 sq 1 bedroom apartment. As a matter of fact, both of our cats are ‘fugitives’ because the landlord didn’t really want us to have pets. Even though our lease said we could have one with a pet deposit, we just decided not to mention it unless one of the critters damaged something (then it’s only right to pay for the damages). But both the Husband and I are definitely feeling the urge to get a doggy. We’re BIG animal lovers (I recently cried in Petsmart because a dog up for adoption looked sad). But everyone is advising us against it. In LA, it’s super, super hard to find apartments that accept pets, and VERY hard to find apartments that will accept three pets. My friends are all over me: What if the landlord found out? What if you got evicted? What if the dog gets sick? Don’t you know how expensive dogs are? Don’t you know dogs can’t live in apartments?? THEY NEED A YARD!!!!!

Oh come on! Tell me that’s not awesome!

Good grief.

The problem is I don’t think they’re right. I grew up with dogs, and outside of boarding them when we were away, they were never too expensive. And if we got a small-medium dog, he could totally live in the apartment. We’d walk him twice a day and Hubs could possibly come home from work to check on him.

But the doggy urge is NOTHING compared to the “want to trade in my car for another used one that’s more gas efficient” one. Folks, I’ve got the itch BAD.

I currently drive a 2005 Ford Taurus. It’s in relatively good condition, only has 73,000 miles on it. And it’s paid for. It’s the frugal superhero’s dream. The problem? I spend about 15 hours a week in the car and about over $300 a month in gas. While the car is in good condition, I fantasize about having a car with better mileage.

Ok, I’ll admit it: I want the shiny new features that some of the newer models come with: Sirius radio, sun roof, GPS. I’ve been salivating over crossover SUVs for about a year now!

Come to Mama!

Come to Mama!

Again, everyone is telling me not to do it. My car runs fine and is PAID OFF. Better not to mess with the Universe on this, they say.

Yeah, yeah, yeah.

I know they’re right on both things. But a want is a want.

What do you guys think? Am I wrong to want to upgrade my car and have my new doggy addition cruise around town with me?

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Debt Girl Gets a Dog… | Adventures of Debt Girl

  2. Pingback: May 2013 update and June goals | Adventures of Debt Girl

Leave a Reply

