RSS Feed

Update!

Posted on

So a lot has been happening in Debtonia. Hubs and I got a puppy and we’ve been talking A LOT about me finding another job or quitting my current one to work on my fiction writing.

The puppy craziness has slowed down to the point that we’ve fallen back into routine a bit. She’s now 10 weeks old and despite one of our cat’s attempts to assassinate, has managed to become partially potty trained. She also knows how to walk on the leash, ‘shake’ hands and how to sit on command. We’ve been very, very busy running on very limited sleep.

On the work front, I’ve been having a rough patch. I am an Administrative Assistant for an executive at an entertainment company. I’m also the pseudo office manager / therapist / punching bag when things go wrong as most AAs are. It’s certainly not what I wanted to do with my life. Over the last two months, I’ve become very depressed. I hate the 15 mile commute, being tethered to one person and their whims and being the “go to” person for the office. I wanted (and still want) to be somewhere where my projects mean something (sorry, ordering coffee is not one of them) and I have the freedom to come and go as I please. When I found out our office is moving another 7 miles away, I broke down.

I started to cry every day to work (and sometimes at work) because I was in such a funk. I’ve been snapping at my boss, my coworker, my HR person…anyone who happens to get in my path. I felt like I was trapped!

Of course, that’s not true. So I’ve been going on interviews for other entry level, non-glamorous positions that are within 5 miles of my house and discovered that while my current job is far from my dream job, it has more perks than the companies I’ve been interviewing with.

That being said, I decided to bide my time a little longer. My new commute in August will be an hour long each way. We talked about me trading in my car for another more gas efficient used one, but I don’t want a car note for now. I will be investing in Sirius radio to help me pass the time, though.

What about you fellow citizens out there? Do you have your dream job or are you hustling until you get it? Share your story!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

